Report: Hockey East Approves New Playoff Format Starting Next Season 

Reports say Hockey East has approved a new playoff format, which will be implemented starting next season.When Notre Dame and UConn join up, all 12 teams will earn a spot in the postseason, which is now three weekends.A single game between seeds 5-12, 6-11, 7-10, and 8-9 will be played first as part of the play-in weekend.The top four regular season teams will get a first weekend bye.Those winners will move on to the traditional format of quarterfinal series and then semifinal and final single games.Next season, with just 11 teams, this will still be the format, with just one less play-in game.