Reminder for Youth Laborers 

With the school year coming to a close this month, Maine’s Labor Commissioner is issuing a reminder about the state’s labor laws.Laura Fortman says first jobs are great opportunities for young workers, but she adds that Maine has laws to prevent teenagers from working overly long hours or in dangerous conditions.Fortman says all 14 and 15-year-olds must have a work permit, and can’t work more than eight hours a day and 40 hours a week in the summer months when school is out.