Veterans Honored 

Governor John Baldacci presented State of Maine Silver Star Honorable Service Medals to 15 veterans during a ceremony at the State House Thursday.  The veterans are former prisoners of war and Purple Heart recipients.  The medal was first awarded to Maine veterans in August 2006, and is presented to those who have been wounded while serving their country and former POWs.  “It as an honor to be here two days before our country celebrates its independence to honor 19 amazing veterans,” Governor Baldacci said.  “Your service to your country and your sacrifices for our freedom will never be forgotten.”All of the Prisoners of War at the ceremony served during WWII.  All of the Purple Heart Recipients at the ceremony served in Vietnam, with the exception of one who served in WWII.The Governor was joined by United States Property and Fiscal Officer for Maine COL Don Lagace and Director of Veterans Services Peter Ogden in awarding the service medals to the veterans.Since Governor Baldacci first dedicated the Silver Star Honorable Service Medal for veterans wounded in combat and former Prisoners of War, more than 500 Silver Star Medals have been presented to Maine veterans.  Below is the list of veterans recognized Wednesday, and the town in which they reside.Prisoners of WarMAJ Peter J. Bramsen            Harpswell               WWIICPL Ralph C. Damon              Pittston                WWII   S/Sgt Stewart H. Day            Bath                    WWIIPFC Donald V. Dennison          Spruce Head             WWII    CPL Robert H. Howarth           Nobleboro               WWIIT/Sgt Orville L. Libby          Monmouth                WWIIT/Sgt Walter C. Rich            Union                   WWIIS/Sgt Leonard E. Gaylord        Winthrop        WWIIPurple Heart RecipientsMSgt Ruel H. Anderson           Cornish                 WWIISP4 David E. Bowman Sr.         Gorham          VietnamSGT Elwyn E. Crocker            Winthrop                VietnamHMCS (ss) Roland W. Duprey      Augusta         VietnamSP5 Ryan D. Jennings            Bowdoinham              VietnamLTC Edward E. Langbein          Brunswick               VietnamSGT Edward F. Strong            Eliot                   VietnamIndividuals Honored Who Could Not Be at Thursday’s CeremonyPVT Conrad J. Poisson           LewistonPVT Dante J. Piermarini         HarpswellPFC Roger A. Poulin             AuburnPFC Afton Farrin                South Bristol           PVT Roger H. Chamberlain        LewistonT/5 William L. Creamer          GreenePFC Joseph A. Donahue           GardinerPFC Maynard R. Linscott Jr.     WaldoboroPFC Philip A. Roy              Lisbon FallsSGT Omar E. Sanborn             Winslow PFC Raymond E. Spenard          Winslow 1LT Albert L. Farrah            Kittery Point   PFC Kenneth Workman             Belgrade        1SGT Kenneth Finlayson          Portland        2LT Olga M. Finlayson           Portland        CSF Alfred K. Fogg              Freeport                T/3 Louis D. Germani            Portland        T/5 Benjamin H. Lyons           Waterville      T/5 Charles P. Magaw            Vassalboro      CPL Elmer R. Shepard            Wells           PFC Richard T. Sorenson         Portland        SGT David L. Stevens            Brunswick