Maine Senate Leadership 

The current majority leader, Sen. Elizabeth Mitchell of Vassalboro, won the caucus nomination as Senate president Monday evening. Because the Democrats have a majority, her nomination assures her election to the Senate’s top spot.

Mitchell would then become the first woman who will have served as both Maine Senate president and speaker of the House.

Sen. Philip Bartlett of Gorham was the Democrats’ consensus candidate for majority leader, and Sen. Lisa Marrache of Waterville won the assistant floor leader, or whip, post.