Seat Belt Law Now in Effect

Updated 6 years ago

Maine’s seatbelt law went into effect last September, but up until now, police had just been issuing warnings.

Maine’s bureau of highway safety says that as of Tuesday morning, first-time violators can get $50 fines.

Second violations can bring $125 fines, and third and subsequent offenses can lead to $250 fines.

Previously, motorists had to be pulled over for a separate violation if they were to be cited for nonuse of seat belts.


MENU